As 2016 begins, I thought I would take a moment to thank you for your support in 2015 and discuss some of our plans for 2016!

2015 represented several key accomplishments for the Iowa Aviation Promotion Group.

  1. FLY IOWA – The Fly Iowa event in Mason City was one of the most successful ever held since IAPG began sponsoring the event over 24 years ago. An estimated 15,000 people came to see the show and experience the great facilities and people at the airport that serves their community!                                                                             
  2. KIDS AVIATION CAMPS – Several events were held around the state and the milestone of more than 3,400 kids have now participated in an aviation experience at a young age.                                           
  3. NEW MEMBERSHIP – 2015 was a record year for new membership with almost 30% growth. Special events like the IMAX screening of “Living in the age of airplanes” and strong participation by existing members helped fuel growth.

Coming up in 2016

Our focus on growing and improving our 3 key programs continues in 2016…

Fly Iowa – The FlyIowa dates for Clinton have been announced.  September 24 (25th rain date) so mark your calendars!

Aviation Youth Camps – Many aviation camps for Iowa’s youth are now taking shape for 2016!

Fly Iowa Challenge – Encouraging pilots to visit and experience Iowa’s airports!


At the annual meeting in Cedar Rapids in November, our 2016 board was elected for the year.   We are very excited to welcome Adam Glowaski as a director to the board.  Adam Glowaski is an aviation photographer/videographer and commercial-pilot based in Clear Lake, Iowa. He is the President of Box5 Media, a marketing and multimedia content creation and solution firm.  He strives to create unique images and video aimed at enhancing the image of aviation for all, and to bring to life the stories within the community. Adam was a key member of the team that made FlyIowa 2015 such a great success.

Above / Adam Glowaski our newest Board Member


The complete board of the board is as follows…

Current President & Director      Bill Weyers / Grimes  (2015-2016)

President Elect & Director –        Paul Berge / Indianola (2017-2018)

Past President –                             Shane VandeVoort / Pella (2013-2014)

Secretary Treasurer –                       Chuck McDonald / Des Moines 

Director –                                           Dan Sokolowski / Clear Lake (term thru 2017)

Director –                                           Deb McGee – Indianola  (term thru 2018)

Director –                                          Mike Vogt / Des Moines  (term thru 2016)

Director –                                           Tim Busch / Cedar Rapids  (term thru 2017)                          

Director –                                           Adam Glowaski / Clear Lake (term thru 2018)

Of course, nothing happens without strong membership involvement.  If you would like to help serve on one of our many projects and teams, please contact me at

Happy New Year!

Bill Weyers